• Post author:
  • Post published:September 20, 2023
  • Post category:Notifications
  • Post last modified:September 20, 2023

RRB NTPC Full Form is important to know for all the aspirants who want to pursue their career in government jobs as the Indian Railways is the largest government body providing jobs in the public sector. RRB NTPC is a national-level exam conducted by the Railways authorities to recruit eligible candidates in various Zonal Railways and Production Units of Indian Railways. But do you know what the full form of RRB NTPC is? It is a common query because the full form of RRB NTPC is not so common and can be quite confusing at times.
Candidates interested in securing a job in the Indian Railways should know the important terms related to the exam. So, if you want to know the full form of NTPC or RRB, keep reading this article to find out and clear all your doubts. We have explained all the details related to RRB NTPC full form in the article below.

RRB NTPC Full Form

The full form of RRB NTPC is Railway Recruitment Board Non-Technical Popular Categories. It is a national-level exam that is conducted to appoint candidates for various posts.

It is one of the most popular exams in India and offers decent pay upon selection. Hence, it is also highly competitive.

the selection process for the exam consists of

  • Computer Based Test Stage-1
  • Computer Based Test Stage-2
  • PET,
  • Document Verification
  • and for some posts, Skill Tests as well

How Many RRBs in India?

There are a total of 21 RRBs in India. The headquarters of RRB is located in New Delhi. 21 Railway Recruitment Boards have been established to plan, organize, evaluate, monitor, and carry out the recruitment process in order to handle the rush meticulously and to guarantee a hassle-free process. The list of the 21 RRBs is given below.

  1. Ahmedabad
  2. Ajmer
  3. Allahabad
  4. Bangalore
  5. Bhopal
  6. Bhubaneswar
  7. Bilaspur
  8. Chandigarh
  9. Chennai
  10. Gorakhpur
  11. Guwahati
  12. Jammu and Kashmir
  13. Kolkata
  14. Malda
  15. Mumbai
  16. Muzaffarpur
  17. Patna
  18. Ranchi
  19. Secunderabad
  20. Siliguri
  21. Thiruvananthapuram

Candidates can apply for any of the recruitment for any RRB as per their choice.

Types of RRB Exams

The RRBs conduct the following four types of exams for recruiting candidates in the Ministry of Railways. 

  1. RRB Non-Technical Popular Categories (NTPC) Exam
  2. RRB Junior Engineer (JE) Exam
  3. RRB Assistant Loco Pilot (ALP) Exam
  4. RRB Group D Exam/RRC Level 1 exam


The explanation for each of the RRB exams is below in the subsequent paragraphs.

NTPC Full Form in Railway

RRB NTPC full form is Railway Recruitment Board Non-Technical Popular Categories, commonly known as RRB NTPC. The RRB NTPC Exam is conducted to provide employment opportunities to 12th-pass and Graduate candidates. 

List of Posts under RRB NTPC Exam

RRB NTPC exam is being conducted to recruit candidates for the posts of levels 2, 3, 4 and 6. Here is a list of the RRB NTPC posts for which the RRB NTPC exams are conducted for the 12th pass and Graduate candidates. 

  • Junior Clerk cum Typist,
  • Accounts Clerk cum Typist,
  • Junior Time Keeper,
  • Trains
  • Clerk,
  • Commercial cum Ticket Clerk,
  • Traffic Assistant,
  • Goods Guard,
  • Senior Commercial cum Ticket Clerk,
  • Senior Clerk cum Typist,
  • Junior Account Assistant cum Typist,
  • Senior Time Keeper,
  • Commercial Apprentice
  • Station Master

Selection Process for RRB NTPC

The selection process for the RRB NTPC is of the following stages:

  • 1st Stage Computer Based Test (CBT)
  • 2nd Stage Computer Based Test (CBT)
  • Typing Skill Test/Computer-Based Aptitude Test (as applicable) 
  • Document Verification/Medical Examination

RRB NTPC Previous Year Cut Off

RRB NTPC Secunderabad Cut Off 2021

Level 265.4104557.1026452.1676263.7562855.63027
Level 369.3945757.8450353.3248964.0812456.82063
Level 568.2647558.1663453.759664.3078858.47324
Level 679.2780766.9665163.4993374.7287270.69666